

## City of Waukesha

Waukesha City Hall, 201 Delafield Street Waukesha. WI 53188

## **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

## **Landmarks Commission**

Wednesday, April 2, 2025

6:00 PM

Council Chambers, City Hall

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call

**Present** 7 - Marty Larson, Jennifer Wall, Julie Scarpace, Carmen De La Paz, Matt Retzak, Aaron Spencer, and Elizabeth Moltzan

- III. Public Comment
- IV. Approval of Minutes

ID#25-00555 Minutes of March 5, 2025

A motion was made by Member Elizabeth Moltzan, seconded by Member Carmen De La Paz, that the Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Marty Larson, Carmen De La Paz, Matt Retzak, Aaron Spencer and Elizabeth Moltzan

Abstain: 2 - Jennifer Wall and Julie Scarpace

- V. Landmark's Commission Paint and Repair Grant Funds
- VI. New Business

Landmarks Commission Certificate of Appropriateness for 242 N. Hartwell Ave. Review a request to repair the built-in gutters and add new copper

linings (McCall Street Historic District).

A motion was made by Member Jennifer Wall, seconded by Member Marty Larson, that this item be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Marty Larson, Jennifer Wall, Julie Scarpace, Carmen De La Paz, Matt Retzak, Aaron Spencer and Elizabeth Moltzan

<u>ID#25-00553</u> Educational presentation from Thoughtful Craftsman on the window restoration process.

Lauren Finn and Joe Thomas provided information on the window restoration process and on other restoration work Thoughtful Craftsman has done.

ID#25-00554 Discussion and action on the 2025 Landmarks Commission Awards.

A motion was made by Member Scarpace, seconded by Member Wall, to award a Landmarks Commission Certificate of Merit to Nicholas Martinez for restoration and repair work at 910-914 Clinton Ave., the W.T. Lyles Building. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 7 - Marty Larson, Jennifer Wall, Julie Scarpace, Carmen De La Paz, Matt Retzak, Aaron Spencer and Elizabeth Moltzan

A motion was made by Member Jennifer Wall, seconded by Member Carmen De La Paz, to award the Landmarks Commission's John Schoenknecht "Spirit of Preservation" award to David Kopp. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Marty Larson, Jennifer Wall, Julie Scarpace, Carmen De La Paz, Matt Retzak, Aaron Spencer and Elizabeth Moltzan

- VII. Alderman's Report
- VIII. Springs Report
- IX. Communications and Publications
- X. Adjournment