City of Waukesha, Wisconsin

Ordinance No. 2021 – ____

An Ordinance Amending Sections 1.01 and 1.03 of the Waukesha Municipal Code, Regarding Amendment of Aldermanic Districts and Locations of Polling Places

Whereas as required by Wisconsin Statutes §5.15 the City has adjusted the boundaries of its wards in order to reflect changes in the City's population as shown by the 2020 federal census; and

Whereas Wisconsin Statutes §62.08 requires that every municipality in the State of Wisconsin shall redistrict its aldermanic districts within 60 days of the adjustment of its wards pursuant to §5.15; and

Now, therefore, the Common Council of the City of Waukesha do ordain as follows:

Section 1. The City's aldermanic districts are adjusted and recreated by the deletion of Municipal Code §1.01 and its replacement in its entirety with the following:

- **1.01 Aldermanic Districts.** The City's aldermanic districts shall be composed of the wards, defined in Municipal Code §1.02, as shown below:
- (1) **First District.** Wards 1, 2, 3, and 4.
- (2) Second District. Wards 5, 6, 7, and 8.
- **(3) Third District.** Wards 9, 10, and 11.
- (4) Fourth District. Wards 12, 13, and 14.
- **(5) Fifth District.** Wards 15, 16, and 17.
- (6) **Sixth District.** Wards 18, 19, and 20.
- (7) Seventh District. Wards 21, 22, and 23.
- **(8) Eighth District.** Wards 24, 25, and 26.
- (9) **Ninth District.** Wards 27, 28, and 29.
- (10) **Tenth District.** Wards 30, 31, and 32.

- (11) Eleventh District. Wards 33, 34, and 35.
- (12) Twelfth District. Wards 36, 37, and 38.
- (13) Thirteenth District. Wards 39, 40, and 41.
- (14) Fourteenth District. Wards 42, 43, and 44.
- (15) Fifteenth District. Wards 45, 46, and 47.

Section 2. The map attached hereto as Exhibit A is adopted as the official aldermanic district map for the City. Any conflict between the boundary descriptions in Municipal Code §1.02 and the map shall be resolved in favor of the boundary descriptions in §1.02.

Section 3. Section 1.03 of the Municipal Code is deleted and replaced in its entirety with the following:

1.03. Polling Places. The City's polling places shall be as follows:

District	Wards	Polling Place
1	1, 2, 3, and 4	Waukesha Elks Lodge #400 2301 Springdale Road
2	5, 6, 7, and 8	Waukesha City Hall 201 Delafield Street
3	9, 10, and 11	Rotary Building 1150 Baxter Street
4	12, 13, and 14	St. William Catholic Church 444 North Moreland Boulevard
5	15, 16, and 17	Department of Parks, Recreation and Forestry 1900 Aviation Drive
6	18, 19, and 20	St. John Neumann Catholic Church 2400 Les Paul Parkway
7	21, 22, and 23	National Guard Armory 311 Walton Avenue
8	24, 25, and 26	St. Mary Catholic Church 225 South Hartwell Avenue

9	27, 28, and 29	Fire Station 2 1714 Pearl Street
10	30, 31, and 32	Municipal Garage 300 Sentry Drive
11	33, 34, and 35	Evangelical & Reformed United Church of Christ 413 Wisconsin Avenue
12	36, 37, and 38	St. John Neumann Catholic Church 2400 Les Paul Parkway
13	39, 40, and 41	St. William Catholic Church 444 North Moreland Boulevard
14	42, 43, and 44	Fire Station 5 3051 Summit Avenue
15	45, 46, and 47	E.B. Shurts Building 810 West College Avenue

Section 4. All ordinances, or portions of ordinances, inconsistent with this ordinance are hereby repealed.

Section 5. This Ordinance shall be effective the day after its publication, and shall apply to elections beginning January 1, 2022.

Passed the 5th day of October, 2021.	
Shawn N. Reilly, Mayor	Attest: Gina L. Kozlik, City Clerk