

City of Waukesha

Meeting Minutes - Final

City Council

Tuesday, April 18, 2017	6:30 PM	Council Chambers, City Hall
	Dist. 14 - Ald. Bill Boyle, Dist. 15 - Ald. Cory Payne	
	Dist. 12 - Ald. Aaron Perry, Dist. 13 - Ald. Dean Lemke	
	Dist. 10 - Ald. Steve Johnson, Dist. 11 - Ald. Erik Helgestad	
	Dist. 8 – Vance Skinner, Dist. 9 - Kathleen Cummings	
	Dist. 6 - Ald. Adam Jankowski, Dist. 7 - Ald. Daniel Manion	
	Dist. 4 - Ald. Joe Pieper, Dist. 5 - Ald. Peter Bartels	
	Dist. 2 - Ald. Eric Payne, Dist. 3 - Ald. Cassandra Rodriguez	
	Mayor Shawn Reilly, Dist. 1 - Ald. Terry Thieme	

Council Chambers, City Hall Use lower level glass door.

Second Agenda for 2017-2018 Council

2. Roll Call

Present: 16 - Pieper, Bartels, Skinner, Cummings, Perry, C. Payne, Manion, E. Payne, E. Payne, Thieme, Johnson, Jankowski, Helgestad, Boyle, Rodriguez and Lemke

- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 1. Call to Order and Administration of Oath of Office
- 4. Mayor's Greeting State of the City Message
- 5. Appointments

ID#17-0545 City Board/Commission Members and Standing Committees 2017-2018

A motion was made by Ald. Pieper, seconded by Ald. Thieme, to approve the City Board/Commission Members and Standing Committees 2017-2018. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 12 Pieper, Bartels, Skinner, Cummings, Perry, Manion, E. Payne, Thieme, Johnson, Helgestad, Rodriguez and Lemke
- Nay: 3 C. Payne, Jankowski and Boyle
- 6. Election of Council President

A motion was made by Ald. Aaron Perry, seconded by Ald. Bill Boyle, that the Council President be elected by secret ballot. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 14 Pieper, Bartels, Skinner, Cummings, Perry, C. Payne, Manion, E. Payne, Thieme, Johnson, Jankowski, Helgestad, Boyle and Lemke
- Nay: 1 Rodriguez

Nominations for Council President as follows: Ald. Manion nominated by Ald. E. Payne, seconded by Ald. Rodriguez Ald. Perry nominated by Ald. Pieper, seconded by Ald. Helgestad

Ald. Aaron Perry was elected Council President by a vote of 8 to 7.

7. Adoption of Council Rules

<u>ID#17-0549</u> All requests for special orders of business shall be made in writing to the Mayor's Office by a committee or any two (2) City of Waukesha Alderman. All requests must reach the Mayor's Office at least five (5) days and by noon prior to the next meeting of the City of Waukesha Common Council Meeting of Alderman, so it can be noted on the agenda.

> [Original Motion] A motion was made by Ald. Cummings, seconded by Ald. E. Payne to add to the Council Rules that all requests for special orders of business shall be made in writing to the Mayor's Office by a committee or any two (2) City of Waukesha Alderman. All requests must reach the Mayor's Office at least five (5) days and by noon prior to the next meeting of the City of Waukesha Common Council Meeting of Alderman, so it can be noted on the agenda.

A motion was made by Ald. Bartels, seconded by Ald. Manion to CALL THE QUESTION. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Pieper, Bartels, Skinner, Cummings, Perry, C. Payne, Manion, E. Payne, Thieme, Johnson, Jankowski, Helgestad, Boyle, Rodriguez and Lemke

[Voting on the Original Motion] A motion was made by Ald. Cummings, seconded by Ald. E. Payne to add to the Council Rules that all requests for special orders of business shall be made in writing to the Mayor's Office by a committee or any two (2) City of Waukesha Alderman. All requests must reach the Mayor's Office at least five (5) days and by noon prior to the next meeting of the City of Waukesha Common Council Meeting of Alderman, so it can be noted on the agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Pieper, Bartels, Skinner, Cummings, Perry, C. Payne, Manion, E. Payne, Thieme, Johnson, Jankowski, Helgestad and Rodriguez
- Nay: 2 Boyle and Lemke
- ID#17-0547 Council Rules

8. Mayor's Announcements

9. Referrals

Ald. Cummings to discuss and amend Ordinance 2.015 to include language "in the event the Council President and the Human Resources Committee Chairperson are one in the same individual, that the previous Council President shall become part of the three person Annual Review Committee of the City Administrator."

Ald. Helgestad to Buildings & Grounds to please rescind the previously established April 7, 2009 parking zone that states "No Parking, 2am to 9am every Saturday May 9 to Oct. 31 Tow Away Zone: whicfh exist on the North and South sides of Parking Lot 1. Said areas will revert to standard 3 hour parking 7am to 7pm.

10. Adjournment

Adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Shawn Reilly, Mayor City of Waukesha

NOTICE: Any person who has a qualifying disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act that requires that the meeting be accessible or that materials at the meeting be in an accessible format, please contact Fred Abadi, 48 hours prior to the meeting at 524-3600, FAX 524-3898, or by the Wisconsin Telecommunications Relay System so that arrangements may be made to accommodate the request.